A Quilted Story

A dear friend of mine has an interesting story of what brought her to the point of adoption. We’ve been friends for about 7 years, homeschooling our children together, taking classes to keep our teaching licenses current, and directing a local homeschool support and co-op group in Marysville, Ohio. When she shared that she and her husband knew that God was leading them to adopt after serving in the foster care locally I knew it would be special. She’s an amazing mom so adding another sweetie to her brood seemed perfectly natural.

My creative mind began thinking about how to support and gift her with one-of-a-kind gifts. I naturally turned to fabric because who wouldn’t like a baby quilt made personally just for you. I started collecting fabric that I knew she would love, her favorite color is purple! I also knew that they applied for a special needs baby boy from China, so I had those thoughts in my mind as I kept my eyes peeled for that perfect blend of cultural and colorful pieces.

Once she received her first photo of the little one that would soon be part of her family then I started working. I am a creative person. I have been sewing for years and have checked out many books at the library on quilting but it always scared me. I had worked with my aunt on a quilt just to learn with her when I was younger. I have started several tops and given up too many times to count…

Using grid paper I drew out my idea and design, measured and cut my fabrics, laid them out on the floor and began machine sewing them all together. I used 11 different fabrics with an elephant motif fabric as my inspiration for all the colors combinations. I know that traditionally there is a quilt top and quilt backing with the backing being more plain, but I chose to do something a little different. I also chose to add an applique of the two continents that would be involved in the quilt and here is the results:

Here she is opening the gift... both shed some tears

Here she is opening the gift… we both shed some tears

Quilt backing with the United States and China connecting two little hearts

Quilt backing with the United States and China connecting two little hearts

The quilt binding is baby blanket satin for softness

The quilt binding is baby blanket satin for softness

The quilt front is a combination of flannel and cotton prints

The quilt front is a combination of flannel and cotton prints

It's such a blessing to bless someone else, especially someone you love

It’s such a blessing to bless someone else, especially someone you love

The doodled elephant was my inspiration fabric

The doodled elephant was my inspiration fabric


IMG_8839

Justin Li joined his forever family on January 20, 2014 and I am so thrilled that I was able to have a small part in that celebration!

Interweave is currently hosting a contest for a quilt story. This project was a perfect start for that type of story. Each contestant is to chose their own prize package from the interweave store so here is a list of items I would love to have in my art stash!
Carve Stamp Play
How to Get Started Teaching Online Workshops
Art Lessons 2014, Vol. 2 Pan Pastels
Claudine Hellmuth Gesso
Golden Light Molding Paste
Pan Pastels
Iridescent Primary Color paint sticks

2 thoughts on “A Quilted Story

  1. Pingback: Learning How to Quilt: Announcing Our 'First Quilt' Winner! - Quilting Daily - Blogs - Quilting Daily

  2. What a heartwarming story! No better way to be motivated to make that special one-of-a-kind gift for someone you love. Hopefully this is just the beginning of your quilting journey.

Leave a Reply

